Publications earn awards at state competition


Some of the medals earned by Kerr journalism students.

The staffs of Kerronicle and Safari yearbook took home 16 awards and top ratings for both publications from the Interscholastic League Press Conference Spring Convention last weekend.

The 2015 yearbook has earned 6 awards — including two first place — even before it has been released.

The 2014 Safari Yearbook and the 2014-15 Kerronicle Newspaper both earned Distinguished Merit ratings, the highest category for publications in the state. Individual stories, designs, photos and other content were submitted for Individual Achievement Awards.

In current year (2015) yearbook, IAAs went to:
1st place multi-topic spread – Jun Tan, Andrea Magana, Ashley Nguyen, Uyen Tran, Christina Tahtouh, Lina Bui
1st place class spread – Tan, Kelly Yu.
Honorable mention feature spread – Tan, Tran, Magana
Honorable mention  story – Tran
Honorable mention  photo portfolio – Julia Taboh
Honorable mention sports spread – Nguyen, Magana, Tan, Laura Atuesta

In 2014 yearbook:
2nd place student life photo – Tan
Honorable mention  academic photo – Tan
Honorable mention personality profile – Magana
Honorable mention photo portfolio – Tan

In print newspaper:
1st place personal opinion column – Camille Nguyen
1st place headlines – staff
2nd place computer art – Alyssa Andaverde, Hadiqa Memon, Sophie Le
3rd place entertainment page – Amy Haokip
Honorable mention  editorial page design – Haokip

In online newspaper:
2nd place general news photo – Haokip
Honorable mention feature photo – Anh Lu

Kerr competes in the 6A division against schools more than 5 times its size, with bigger publications staffs and bigger budgets.

Yearbook staffs can enter content from both the previous year’s book and the current year’s as-yet unpublished book. Newspaper staffs can enter content published between February 2014 and February 2015, online or in print.