10 questions with Katherine Fernandez Granados


Katherine Fernandez Granados is a junior

Katherine Fernandez Granados is a junior

Question: How long can you go without sleep?

Answer: I can go the whole day without sleep, especially the days I have tests. However, when I’m done with them, I need a couple of days to recover by sleeping a lot. 

Q: If you could go anywhere right now, would it be?

A: If I could go anywhere right now, it would be Honduras. I would love to be there enjoying the warm weather and eating my traditional food. 

Q: Do you think you’re ready for the real world? 

A: I do believe I am ready for the real world. Being the oldest daughter has allowed me to prepare myself for adulthood in various aspects (helping with taxes, working, etc.) 

Q: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

A: In 10 years, I see myself working as a resident since I want to become a doctor. Hopefully, this is somewhere close to home. 

Q: What is your lifelong dream?

A: My lifelong dream has always been to be able to support my family financially when I’m older. Whether that means paying for their bills or taking them on vacations, I want to be able to be there for them as they have been for me. 

Q: Day or Night?

A: I prefer night because it allows me to be more productive. My household is typically loud during the day, so the time I can truly work and focus is when my family is asleep. 

Q: What’s your favorite food?

A: My favorite food is a Honduran plate known as tortillas con quesillo. It is basically two tortillas with quesillo in the middle with pico de gallo or “chimol” as I call it on top. 

Q: On a scale of 1-10 how has your year been so far?

A: On a scale of 1-10, my year has been a 4. It started out rough due to some personal issues and has been stressful due to the classes I have, but it is improving day by day.

Q: What is something you’re looking forward to this year?

A:  Something I’m looking forward to this year is summer. This is because this is the first summer I have a car, so I hope to work even more and save up, as well as go out and have fun with family and friends. 

Q: What do you spend most of your time doing?

A:  I spend the majority of my time taking care of my sisters and doing homework. These are my two biggest responsibilities, so you will always catch me doing either or.